Home » Online Shop »

Memphis - The Musical (Original London Cast Recording)


Catalogue No: CASTCD116

Winner of four Tony® Awards in 2010, including Best Musical, MEMPHIS has exploded into the West End and is now London's hottest new destination! MEMPHIS has an original score by Grammy® Award-winner and Bon Jovi founding member David Bryan and book by Joe DiPietro. Inspired by true events from the underground dance clubs of 1950s Memphis, Tennessee, MEMPHIS follows the fame and forbidden love of a radio DJ who wants to change the world and a club singer who is ready for her big break.
Starring the Queen of British soul, multi-award-winning recording artist Beverley Knight as club singer 'Felicia Farrell' and West End star Killian Donnelly as radio DJ 'Huey Calhoun', MEMPHIS will leave you feeling exhilarated by its explosive blend of electrifying music, soaring emotion and roof-raising energy.

1. Underground
2. The Music of my Soul
3. Scratch My Itch
4. Ain't Nothin' But a Kiss
5. That's Not Possible
6. Everybody Wants to be Black on a Saturday Night
7. Make Me Stronger
8. Colored Woman
9. Someday
10. She's My Sister
11. Radio
12. Say a Prayer
13. Crazy Little Huey
14. Big Love
15. Love Will Stand When All Else Fails
16. Stand Up
17. Change Don't Come Easy
18. Tear Down the House
19. Memphis Lives in Me
20. Steal Your Rock 'N' Roll
21. Memphis Lives in Me (Bonus track feat David Bryan)

First performance at the Shaftesbury Theatre, London on Thursday 9th October 2014

Cast: Felicia - Beverley Knight, Huey - Killian Donnelly, Delray - Rolan Bell, Gator - Tyrone Huntley, Bobby - Jason Pennycooke, Gladys - Claire Machin, Mr. Simmons - Mark Roper, Wailin' Joe - Waylon Jacobs
Ensemble: Keisha Atwell, Arielle Campbell, Mark Carroll, Joseph Davenport, Momar Diagne, Kimmy Edwards, Hillary Elk, Laura Ellis, Charlotte Gorton, Benjamin Harrold, Rachel John, Dean Maynard, Carly Mercedes Dyer, Devon McKenzie-Smith, Tim Newman, Simon Ray-Harvey, Ashley Rumble, John Robyns, Kyle Seeley, Helen Siveter, Dawnita Smith, Alex Thomas.
Band: Musical Director/Piano - Tim Sutton, Reeds: Paul Jones, Paul Nathaniel, Keyboard - Benjamin Burrell, Trumpet - Mark White, Drums - Justin Shaw, Trombone - Pat Hartley, Bass - John McKenzie, Guitar - James Pusey
Orchestral Manager - Andy Barnwell

Recorded at British Grove Studios, London, December 2014

Produced for record by David Bryan
Music supervision: Nick Finbow
Recording engineer: Niall Acott
Assistant engineer & Pro Tools operator: Jason Elliott
Assistant engineer: Andy Cook
Orchestra conducted by Tim Sutton
Mixed at NJA Audio
Co-ordinated for First Night Records by John Craig

intimation creative